Film awards announced

Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Malayalam film ‘Culcutta News’ directed by Blessy has bagged the award for best film of 2008 jointly constituted by the World Malayalee Council India region and the Kairali channel.

The film has also fetched Mr. Blessy the best director award. Actor Dileep has bagged the best actor award for his performances in ‘Culcutta News’ and ‘Mulla’ while Priyamani has bagged the best actor award for her role in the film ‘Thirakkadha,’ a statement released here on Saturday said.

Actors Biju Menon and Sukumari have been selected for the awards for best supporting actors for their roles in the films ‘Kurukshetra’ and ‘Mizhikal Sakshi’ respectively. Actor Salim Kumar won the award for best performance in a comedy role for his performances in ‘Twenty 20’ and ‘Annan Thambi.’ Vinu Mohan and Meera Nandan have bagged the awards for best debutants. Composer M. Jayachanran has won the award for music direction for his work in the film ‘Madambi.’ K.J. Yesudas, Aparna Rajeev and Gireesh Puthencherry also bagged honours in the best male singer, best female singer and best lyrics categories respectively. M.J. Radhakrishnan has bagged the best cinematographer award for the film ‘Thirakkadha.’

The awards will be presented at a function to be held at 5 p.m. at Chandrashekharan Nair Stadium on Sunday.

Recommended for you