Farm awards announced

The Kodannur Kole Farming Cooperative Society at Cherpu in Thrissur has won the State award for the best farming society in 2008-09. The Nelkathir Award carries Rs. 2 lakh, citation and gold medal.

The Karshakothama Award for farmers doing arable farming, animal husbandry and dairying along with fish farming went to M. M. Looka of Chungathara village in Malappuram district. P. M. Mathew of Agali village in Palakkad was chosen as the best coconut farmer. T.V. Rajnarayanan of Thiruvilluamala in Thrissur district won the award for young farmer and Britishiya of Chirayinkizhu in Thiruvananthapuram district won the award for young woman for farming.

Each of the awards carries Rs. 1 lakh, gold medal, plaque and certificate. The other winners of the State awards, carrying cash prizes of varying amounts, for the year are the following: Karshaka Jyothi (for best farmer belonging to SC and ST): Ponnan, Chittoor, Palakkad.

Shrama Sakthi (for best agriculture worker): V. Vijayakumari, Chungathara, Malappuram. Karshaka Mitra (for best agriculture officer): E. Ajimol, Vengad Krishi Bhavan, Kannur.

Haritha Keerthi (for best agriculture farm under panchayats): Sugarcane seed farm, Panthalam. Ksheera Dhara (for best dairy farmer rearing high yielding cows): Parameswaran Namboothiri, Ongallur, Palakkad.

Poultry Award (for poultry farmer with best fowls): P. V. Ramlat, Thrithala, Palakkad. Karshaka Bharati (for best agricultural journalist): Vakkom B. Gopinathan, retired Deputy Director of Agriculture, Chirayinkizhu. Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan would present the awards at a function at Kadackal in Kollam on August 17.

Recommended for you