Consecration of bishops next month

Staff Reporter

KOCHI: The consecration of the six bishops appointed by the Syro-Malabar Church recently will begin on February 13.

The first to be consecrated will be Bosco Puthoor as the first Curial Bishop of the Church, said a press release here on Monday.

Msgr. Puthoor will be consecrated on February 13 at the St. Thomas Mount, Kakkanad, by Major Archbishop Cardinal Varkey Vithayathil at the ceremonies scheduled to begin at 2.30 p.m. The other bishops will be consecrated after Easter.

George Njaralakkatt will be consecrated in Mandya in Karnataka by Archbishop George Valiyamattathil on April 7, said the press release.

Remigius Injanal, Bishop-designate of Thamarassery, will be consecrated by Archbishop Valiayamattathil at Pullooranpara on April 8.

Raphael Thattil, who will be the Auxiliary Bishop of Thrissur, will be consecrated on April 10 by Mar Andrews Thazhath, Archbishop of Thrissur. The Episcopal ordination ceremonies will be held at the Lourdes Cathedral, Thrissur, said the press release. Paul Alappatt, who will be the Bishop of Ramanathapuram, will be consecrated on April 11 by Mar Thazhath.

Poly Kannookkadan will be consecrated Bishop of Irinjalakuda by Mar James Pazhayattil on April 18 at at the Irinjalakuda Cathedral church.

Recommended for you