Children's literature awards announced

Special Correspondent

Thiruvananthapuram: Sippi Pallipuram has bagged the C.G. Santhakumar award instituted by the Kerala State Institute of Children's Literature for the best writer in 2009. The award includes a purse of Rs.50,000, citation and a statuette. Sippi Pallipuram was selected for the award for his poetry and stories for children.

Ramakrishnan Kumaranelloor won the award in the poetry category for his work titled ‘Thooval' published by the KSSP while M.R. Renukumar was adjudged the best story writer for ‘Naalaam Classile Varaal'.The P.T. Bhaskara Panikker award for the best work on science went to ‘Janthulokathile Kauthukangal' by M.Geethanjali and G.S. Unnikrishnan Nair's ‘Anpathu Marakathakal' claimed the award for the best translation. ‘Pon Nanayam' penned by Aalinthara G.Krishna Pillai won the Abraham Joseph award for the best play and Gopi Pattithara bagged the award for the film ‘Njaan Kunhimoosa'.