CPI(M) gets Alathur seat

Staff Reporter

Influence of dissidents nullified

ALATHUR: The CPI(M) won the newly created Alathur (SC) Lok Sabha constituency spread over Palakkad and Thrissur districts. Its candidate P.K. Biju’s won comfortably — by 20,960 votes — against his main rival N.K. Sudhir of the Congress. Mr. Biju polled 3,87,352 votes, while Mr. Sudhir got 3,66,392 votes. BJP candidate M. Bindhu got 53,890 votes.

The Alathur seat had replaced Ottapalam (SC) constituency which late President KR. Narayanan had represented thrice. The LDF pressed into service its well oiled election machinery here to ward off strong challenge from the Janata Dal (S) and dissidents in the party.

The Assembly segments of the new constituency — Alathur, Tarur and Nemmara — are CPI(M) strongholds. Except Chittur, all other Assembly seats are held by the CPI(M).

However, there were some apprehensions about the Janata Dal (S) working against the LDF in Chittur. Though Mr. Sudhir had a margin of 25,472 votes over Mr. Biju in Chittur, the LDF could wipe this out with a lead of 20,532 votes in Alathur Assembly segment and 11,423 votes in the newly formed Tarur segment. In Nemmara, where the Janata Dal (S) has some hold, the UDF candidate was expected to get more votes. But here too, P.K. Biju had a majority of 5,106 votes.

UDF was expected to do well in Vadakkancherry, Kunnamkulam and Chelakkara constituencies in Thrissur district. But, LDF led in all three segments.

Recommended for you