79.33% voter turnout in Kannur constituency

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The voter turnout in the byelection in the Kannur Assembly constituency on Saturday was 79.33 per cent, according to the final figures released by the Chief Electoral Officer on Sunday.

The polling percentages were 64.64 and 75 in the bypolls from the Ernakulam and Alappuzha Assembly constituencies respectively.

A press note from the Chief Electoral Office said that 1,05,772 voters had cast their votes in the Kannur constituency.

While 92,361 persons voted in the Ernakulam constituency 85,495 voters exercised their franchise in the Alappuzha constituency.

The turnout was higher than in the previous Assembly elections from the constituencies.

Lok Sabha turnout

In the Lok Sabha elections held early this year, the polling percentage in the Kannur Assembly segment of the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency was only 76.46.

In the Ernakulam Assembly segment (of the Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituency), the polling percentage was 66.97 and in Alappuzha segment, the polling percentage was 80.66.

However, the byelections were based on the pre-delimitation boundaries of the Assembly constituencies.

These are not exactly the same as that of the Assembly segments in the Lok Sabha constituencies as the Lok Sabha polls were held after the delimitation process.

Recommended for you