18 in fray for bishops election

KOTTAYAM, JUNE 3. With the last date for withdrawal nominations over by Wednesday, 18 candidates are in the fray for the election of bishops of the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church. In all, 36 persons had filed nominations for the election of seven bishops. The election is scheduled for June 10 at Parumala in Pathanamthitta.

The list of candidates included the seven candidates being projected as `official panel' by the Church Managing Committee which nominated them from a list of 15.

The other 11 candidates in the fray are Ramban Christophorous, Jacob Varghese, John Mathews, M.O. John, M.S. John, Joshua John, C.G. Mathew, I.C. Pathrose, Reji Mathew, Thomas Yohannan and O.P. Varghese (all priests). The persons in the so-called official panel are Ramban Augen Ramban Yuhanon, M.C. Cherian, K.J. Gabriel, M.S. Skariah, Titus George, P.S. Yohannan (all priests).

In addition to the bishops, election of the Priest Trusty of the Church would also be held on June 10.

Recommended for you