Sit-in by MP, municipal chairman in front of Collector's Chamber

Staff Reporter


PALAKKAD: Ottapalam MP S. Ajayakumar and Shoranur Municipal chairman M. Murali sat on a dharna in front of the District Collector's Chamber at the Civil Station on Thursday to protest against his not giving sanction to the Shoranur Municipality bus stand.

Collector K. Ajayakumar had called a meeting of the Regional Transport Authority (RTA) on August 16 to give sanction for the new bus stand.

But the meeting was cancelled allegedly on political pressure by the Collector.

The MP and the chairman started the sit-in at the Collector's office in the evening on Thursday.

A number of CPI(M) leaders and supporters also joined the dharna in front of the chamber.

Meanwhile, the District Panchayat president K.V. Ramakrishnan and other CPI(M) leaders held talks with the Collector and the latter agreed to give the RTA sanction to operate the bus stand.