Rs. 110-cr. `cold chain' in four months

BIJAPUR, FEB. 26. The Container Corporation of India coming under the Railways will set up a "cold chain'' at Whitefield in Bangalore at a cost of Rs. 110 crores in four months, according to the Minister of State for Railways, Basanagouda R. Patil Yatnal, here on Thursday.

Mr. Yatnal, who flagged off a grapes container to Europe, inaugurated the computer reservation counter at Indi Railway Station and laid the foundation for modernisation of the goods shed at the Bijapur Railway Station.

He said he had held talks with the Chief Minister, S.M. Krishna, who had agreed to allot 2.5 hectares of land at Whitefield for the "cold chain," and once this was done work on the project would start. The "cold chain" would help export fresh fruits and vegetables, he added.

Mr. Yatnal said the Bijapur-Bangalore Express train would start its inaugural run via Solapur, Gulburga and Raichur on March 18. It would be daily train, he added.

Differences denied

He denied that there were differences among BJP leaders in the State on inducting leaders into the party from other parties.

To a query, he said the former State BJP chief, Basavaraj Patil Sedam, would contest from the Gulburga Lok Sabha constituency, and there was no question of fielding any new entrant from there.

In Bijapur district, he said, a few senior leaders from Janata Dal (S), the Congress and the All India Progressive Janata Dal would join the party during the visit of the President of the State party unit, H.N. Ananth Kumar, next week. While selecting candidates the interest of the original partymen would be safeguarded, he added.

On the possibility of the member of the dissolved Assembly from Tikota segment, Shivanand Patil, quitting party, he said he was confident that no one would desert the party.

The party had gained in strength in the district. If some persons decide to leave the party, it would not have any negative bearing, he added.

To a query, he said the district would soon recommend a list of candidates to the party's State Election Committee.