Reforms in Public Works Department in the offing

Special Correspondent

The effort is part of the World Bank-aided ISAP The Hyderabad-based ESCI was asked to evolve the plan

GULBARGA: The Government has launched a project to introduce reforms in the Public Works Department (PWD) by evolving a Human Resource Improvement Plan (HRIP) as part of the World Bank-assisted Institutional Strengthening Action Plan (ISAP).

Official sources said that the Hyderabad-based Engineering Staff College of India (ESCI) had been entrusted with the task of studying the human resource scenario in the department and evolve the plan.

The sources said delays in decision making due to lengthy and cumbersome procedures provided little scope for developing and incorporating a systematic human resource development plan. This had also affected the growth of the staff in the department.

As per the plan HRIP proposed by ESCI, a corporate approach was needed for improved performance of PWD with a two tier system one at the State level and the other at the zonal level.

At the State level, the PWD would be headed by a chairman (of the rank of a Principal Secretary), assisted by a secretary (of the rank of Engineer-in-Chief).

The secretary would be supported by a director in charge of R&D and another director (Information and Technology).

Further, it is also proposed to have a Public Relations Officer to liase with the public and other departments.

As per the proposals, four zonal public works corporations and separate corporations for national highways and ports and inland water transport would have to be established.

The four zones would be established in Gulbarga, Dharwad, Mangalore and Bangalore. The Gulbarga zone would have Bidar, Gulbarga, Bijapur, Raichur, Koppal and Bagalkot districts; the Dharwad zone would have Belgaum, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Gadag and Uttara Kannada; Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Shimoga, Chikmagalur, Hassan and Kodagu would come under Mangalore zone, and Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Kolar, Tumkur, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Mandya, Davangere and Chitradurga would come under Bangalore zone.

The national highway zonal corporation would be in Bangalore having jurisdiction all over the State and the ports and inland water transport corporation would be in Karwar with jurisdiction over Uttara Kannada District, Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts.

The zonal corporations would be headed by a managing director, who will be assisted by a chief executive officer, and they would be supported by six general managers in charge of works, designs and quality control, finance, human resource management and information technology.

Recommended for you