P.M. Belliappa is ‘Coorg Person of the Year 2011'

January 06, 2012 12:00 am | Updated July 25, 2016 07:13 pm IST - Mysore:

Pemmanda Monnappa Belliappa, a retired IAS officer of Tamil Nadu, who was decorated with the “Most Excellent Order” of the “Member of the British Empire (MBE)” by the Queen of England, has been chosen as the “Coorg Person of the Year 2011”.

Mr. Belliappa, who hails from Kodagu, was given the MBE honour for his contribution towards improving Indo-U.K. relationship, especially in his capacity as president of the Association of British Scholars (ABS).

He was selected in a poll conducted among the members of www.coorgtourisminfo.com, a news portal of Kodagu (Coorg), promoted by writer P.T. Bopanna, according to information received here on Tuesday.

The award was presented to Mr. Belliappa recently by Mike Nitharvrianakis, British Deputy High Commissioner in southern India. Mr. Belliappa, in his 35-year service in IAS, had occupied important posts, starting as District Collector and head of the National Hydro-Electric Corporation of India and Chairman and Managing Director of the Rural Electrification Corporation of India.

He was leader and member of several Indian delegations to the United Nations Industrial Development Organisations, World Bank and other leading international institutions.

He has served as Chairman of International Workshop on Clean Technologies organised by the Regional Institute of Environmental Technology Singapore, a European Union-sponsored institution.

Mr. Belliappa has established “Pemmanda Monnappa Scholarship” in perpetuity in Cambridge University in the name of his father, a former Karnataka Inspector General of Police. The scholarship would enable a student from the southern States of India to pursue a Masters course.

He has Masters Degrees in Economics and English and also a law degree. He was a Research Fellow at the Centre for South Asian Studies, Cambridge University and also obtained a Diploma in Development Administration from Manchester University, United Kingdom.

Among others who were nominated for the poll were M.C. Nanaiah, MLC, N.U. Nachappa, head of the Codava National Council, Ashwini Ponnappa, badminton star, and Sarita Mandanna, author.

The past winners of the “Coorg Person of the Year” award are Kavery Nambisan, novelist, in 2005, Boverianda Nanjamma Chinnappa, researcher, in 2006, Robin Uthappa, cricketer, in 2007, Moodera Jagadeesh Subbaiah, scientist, in 2008, Air Marshal K.C. Cariappa (retd.), environmentalist, in 2009, and Rohan Bopanna, tennis player, in 2010.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.