‘Lotus’ blooms in Bagalkot too

Staff Correspondent

Bagalkot: P.C. Gaddigoudar of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Lok Sabha election from Bagalkot constituency. He defeated his nearest rival, J.T. Patil of the Congress, by a margin of 35,446 votes.

Of the 8,59,928 votes polled, Mr. Gaddigoudar secured 4,13,272 and Mr. Patil 3,77,826. Independent candidates Farooq Pakali secured 10,978 votes, Basavaraj Pujar 2,109 votes, Parashuram Jalagar 1,397 votes, Kallappa R. 1,372 votes, Ramesh Gadadannavar 6,398 votes, Santoshkumar S. 1,545 votes, Shivappa Bodali 1,566 votes, Rajesab Mujawar 1,872 votes, Ramareddy R. 1,829 votes, Chandrashekhar A.R. 2,996 votes, Sharanayya R. 13,415 votes and Gurupadappa Bhavikatti 11,288 votes.

Among the eight Assembly segments of the constituency, the Congress secured fewer votes than the BJP in six.

Recommended for you