KPCC panel begins to examine reasons for byelection rout

Staff Reporter

KANNUR: A three-member committee constituted by the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) to examine the causes for the defeat of the UDF candidates by massive margins in the recently held byelections in Koothuparamba and Azhikode began its sitting to collect evidence from district leaders of the Congress and other UDF constituents and grassroots-level party functionaries here on Monday.

The panel comprising former Minister K.V. Thomas, G. Balachandra Menon and N.P. Moideen began the process of hearing the party functionaries and leaders to assess the causes that led to the debacle of UDF candidates K. Prabhakaran and C.A. Ajeer in Koothuparamba and Azhikode respectively. The committee will submit its report to KPCC president Thennala Balakrishna Pillai on June 16Party sources said that the committee would also meet UDF leaders and visit the constituencies to meet party workers.

Recommended for you