Eshwarappa predicts LS polls in Jan.

BIDAR April 9. The BJP leader and Central Silk Board Chairman, K.S. Eshwarappa, today indicated that elections to Parliament would probably take place in January or February.

Addressing presspersons here after a meeting of BJP workers, he expressed hope that his party would fare well in the elections to four Legislative Assemblies. Soon after these elections, elections to the Lok Sabha would be declared.

Mr. Eshwarappa predicted that elections to the Legislative Assembly would take place simultaneously with the Parliament elections or soon after.

He argued that the BJP-led NDA had bright chances of being voted to power again, as its performance had been good. In the State, there was confusion about the Congress, and the JD(S) and the JD(U), he added.

He said the State was facing bankruptcy under the Congress rule. The Government had no funds for development programmes, and only had foodgrains and grants released by the Centre. That the Congress unit in the State was a divided house became evident when many leaders such as S. Bangarappa, M. Veerappa Moily, and R.L. Jalappa, did not attend the function organised to mark B. Janardhana Poojary's assumption of office of KPCC President. About the JD(S) and the JD(U), he said their merger was a mere dream.

Mr. Eshwarappa announced that the BJP had decided to hold special district-level conventions of party workers all over the State. During the conventions, all those who had worked for the BJP from the days of the Jan Sangh would be involved. In Bidar, the meeting would be held on May 17.

"I appeal to office-bearers of all morchas to strive to make the meetings successful," he added.

The party had also drawn up plans to strengthen the organisation. Leaders such as Ananth Kumar, Basavaraj Patil Yatnal, Basavaraj Patil Sedam, B.S. Yediyurappa, and Jagadish Shettar would attend the conventions.

The State unit General Secretary, N. Shankarappa, the legislators, Prakash Khandre and Ramesh Pande, the President of the Yuva Morcha State unit, Raghuanth Malkapure, the former MLA, Narayan Rao Mannalli, the district unit President, Ashok Guttedar, and the General Secretary, Shivraj Gandage, were present.