Don’t let men be backseat drivers, Shettar tells women

Women Take Charge:R. Ratna, an autorickshaw driver, was presented the Veera Mahile Award for chasing a chain-snatcher and handing him over to the police; (right) Chinnamma from Raichur, a 92-year-old midwife who has assisted in the delivery of 1,500 babies without charging a fee, was conferred the Kittur Rani Chennamma Award to mark International Women’s Day in Bangalore on Friday.— Photo: V. Sreenivasa Murthy  

Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar on Friday exhorted women to exploit opportunities, including 50 per cent reservation in local bodies, for their empowerment and not let their husbands or fathers to “become backseat drivers”.

He was speaking after presenting the Kittur Rani Chennamma Award to institutions, individuals, self-help groups and students on the occasion of the International Women’s Day celebrations organised by the Department of Women and Child Development here.

Mr. Jagadish Shettar said the Bharatiya Janata Party government, which is keen on empowering women, has amended the law to ensure 50 per cent reservation of seats in urban local bodies for women. The provision, aimed at empowering women, should be used properly, he said.

To drive home a point, Mr. Shettar gave the example of Dharwad MLA Seema Ashok Masuti, who was elected from an unreserved constituency. According to him, many people had expressed doubts about her chances of winning when the party decided to field her, but she belied all apprehensions.

“We expect that a day will come when women get elected or employed on their own capabilities without taking the advantage of any reservation. They have all the leadership qualities,” Mr. Shettar said.

Mr. Shettar presented the Kittur Rani Chennamma Award to five institutions working for women’s welfare, and to 17 individual women for their contribution to women’s development, art, literature, and sports, and one woman was awarded for bravery while two girls were felicitated for scoring distinction.

The institutions that were awarded are: Sandeep Seva Nilayam Samsthe, Bangalore Rural district; Sri Akkamahadevi Samaja, Davanagere district; Vikasa Samsthe – Karnataka Rajya Mahila Uddimedarara Sangha, Dharwad district; Bits Computer Shikshana Samsthe, Gadag district; and Al-Falha Mahila Mandali, Gulbarga district.

Women’s welfare

Individuals who were awarded working for women’s development are: Suryakala Murthy, Bangalore Rural district; Narasamma, Tumkur district; Mokshadayini R., Chitradurga district; Rani Chandrashekar, Mandya district; Susheelakka Shankara Gouda Patil, Haveri district; and Chinnamma, Raichur district.


Women who were awarded for their contribution in the field of art are: K. Kavyashri Krishna, Hassan district; Roopa Srikrishna Upadhya, Kodagu district; Navarathna Indukumar, Chikmagalur district; Omkaramma, Bellary district; P. Bhramaramba Maheshwari, Mysore district; and Radhika R. Chincholi, Bangalore Urban district.


Those who were awarded for their contribution in the field of literature are: Ratna Halappa Gowda, Mysore district; Neelaganga Siddharamaiah Charanthimath, Belgaum district; and Snehalatha Joshi, Koppal district.


Sportswomen who were awarded are: Geetha Bai from Dakshina Kannada district and Renuka H. Pujar from Bagalkot district.


R. Ratna from Bangalore Urban district was awarded for bravery.

Academic excellence

And girl students who were felicitated were Jayashri Khaski from Bijapur district who scored 90 marks in the II PU examination in 2011-12, and Vijayalaksmi N. from Chamarajanagar district who scored 87 per cent marks in D. Ed examination in 2011-12.

Two students felicitated for their academic excellence

Two sportswomen among those conferred with the Kittur Rani Chennamma Award