Syed Yasin banking on votes of minority communities

Syed Yasin

Syed Yasin  

Staff Correspondent

He is contesting on Congress ticket from Raichur segment

Yasin is the lone Muslim candidate fielded by the Congress in Raichur district

Presence of SP and BSP candidates may eat into traditional vote bank of Congress

Raichur: The former MLA Syed Yasin, who is contesting on a Congress ticket from Raichur Assembly Constituency will try to regain his hold over the constituency banking mainly on voters from minority communities. But he faces a stiff challenge from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janata Dal (Secular).


The BJP has re-nominated the former MLA A. Papa Reddy, while Janata Dal (S) is fielding M. Eranna, former president of the city municipal council and general secretary of the State unit of the party.

The former Minister Munyappa Muddappa is contesting as the Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate. Mr. Anjaneya is also in the fray as the Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) candidate.

The BJP has been putting in a lot of effort to retain the seat, while the Janata Dal (S) is determined to gain its hold over the constituency. The presence of the SP and the BSP candidates may affect Mr. Yasin’s prospects as they are likely to eat into the traditional vote bank of the Congress.

Though Muslim voters are predominant in Raichur city, the constituency has not always favoured candidates from that community. In the past 11 elections, the constituency has elected Muslim candidates six times.

In the 1957 elections, when the constituency had duel membership, it elected Bheemanna and Syed Esa, both from the Congress. It elected M. Mohiuddin of the Congress in 1962 and M. Nagappa of the Swatantra Party in 1967.

Nazeer Ahmed Siddiqui of the Congress was elected in the 1972 and 1978 elections. It elected Sangameshwar Sardar of the Janata Party in 1983 and Mohammed Omer of the Congress in the 1985 elections. In 1985, it elected M.S. Patil of the Janata Party.

In the 1999 elections, Mr. Yasin, son-in-law of the former Railway Minister C.K. Jaffer Sharief was elected for the first time from the constituency on a Congress ticket. In the 2004 elections, Mr. Reddy, who belongs to the Munnurkapu community, was elected.

Mr. Yasin is the lone Muslim candidate fielded by the Congress in Raichur district. The Congress has not fielded any Mulsim candidate in Koppal district.

Therefore it has become a matter of prestige for Muslims in Raichur district who are expected to vote en-masse for Mr. Yasin.

Recommended for you