Suvarna Yuga Party to field 30 candidates

Special Correspondent

Bangalore: Suvarna Yuga Party is planning to field 30 candidates in the Assembly elections.

President of the party and former MLA, Mahima Patel, told presspersons that nine candidates had been identified so far and they were Irappa for Kanakagiri in Koppal district; Y.M. Arun (Chikkanayakanahalli, Tumkur district); Kodanda Ram (Bagepalli in Chickballapur district); Tejaswi V. Patel (Harihar or Davangere South); Sridevi (Chitradurga); Chandrashekhar (Holalkere, Chitradurga district); A.S. Eshwarappa (Tarikere, Chikmagalur district) and Balakrishna (Jayanagar in Bangalore city).

Mr. Mahima Patel, son of the former Chief Minister, the late J.H. Patel, who walked out of the Janata Dal (S) following differences with the party leadership, said he would contest from Channagiri constituency in Davangere district.

The names of other candidates would be announced.

He said that a faction of the Karnataka Rajya Raitha Sangha had shown interest in having alliance with his party claiming that it was also following his party’s principle of not providing liquor and money to the voters.

Mr. Patel said that his party candidates would strictly adhere to the direction of the Election Commission to restrict their expenditure within the Rs. 12 lakh limit in the elections.

They would not use banners and posters, especially those made of plastic.

Mr. Patel said that all the candidates would reach out to the voters by undertaking padayatras, as he did in the 2004 elections which paid rich dividends.

Recommended for you