Sri Raghunandana Prashasthi Award for Chourasia

Staff Correspondent

BELLARY: Renowned flautist of national and international fame, Hariprasad Chourasia, and ‘Yogabrahma rishi’ Prabhakar Guruji were conferred the prestigious Sri Raghunandana Prashasthi Award, instituted by the Raghavendra Swamy Math Mantralayam, in the name of Sri Raghunandana Tirtha swamiji, at a colourful function held on the banks of river Tungabhadra, at the world famous Hampi.

The function was organised to mark the 504th ‘aradhane’ of Sri Raghunandana Tirtha swamiji, 13th in the ‘dwita’ lineage started by Sri Madhwacharya and one of the predecessors of renowned Sri Raghavendra Swamiji, the saint of Mantralayam.

The award carries a purse of Rs. 1 lakh, a citation and a mememto, which was given by Sri Suyateendra Tirtha Swamiji, successor of Raghavendra Swamy Math and Sri Vishwesh Tirtha Swamiji of Pejavar Math, Udupi, in the absence of the indisposed Sri Sushmeendra Tirtha Swamiji, the senior swamiji of the math. Sri Haleshwara Vidyapeetha in Peta Alur in Mundargi taluk, Gadag district, and Sri Ramakunjeshwara Padavi College Nirmana Samiti, Ramakunja village, Udupi district, which is incidentally the birth place of the swamiji of Pejawar Math, were conferred the Vidyaposhini Paritoshaka. This award comprises a purse of Rs. 1 lakh, a memento and a citation. Kanakadasa Prashasthi (Rs. 20,000, memento and citation) will be awarded to Manohar Grantha Male of Dharwad.

The Krishi Mitra, a scheme introduced last year, to extend financial assistance to the farmers and their families in distress, with Rs. 10,000 cash, clothes and utensils, was given to ten families this year.

In addition, 45 persons from various fields, including medicine, literature, social service, journalism, philosophy, cinema/drama, were awarded with Vijaya Vittala Prashasthi (Rs. 5,000 cash, citation and memento) in recognition of their services.


The award winners included among others Ms. Manjula Gururaj, well-known singer; B. Pranesh, humourist; and journalists Sanjay Betageri, Srikantachar Mannur, Ajit Ghorpade, Hameed Palya and Nivedita.

Recommended for you