Representation sought for Chikmagalur


BJP has won in four of the five constituencies

in the district

CHIKMAGALUR: The Bharatiya Janata Party workers in Chikmagalur who were ecstatic over the party’s victory in the Assembly elections are now disappointed as none of the legislators from the district have been given ministerial berths.

In a memorandum submitted to the State unit president of the party D.V. Sadananda Gowda, BJP leaders from the district have stressed the need for representation in the Cabinet.

They have stated that the district, which comprises of the Malnad region as well as the plains, has several inherent problems. Though predominantly coffee growing, it is prone to drought on the one hand and flood damage on the other.

They have pointed out that the Datta Peetha controversy and naxalite activities in the district have drawn the attention of the nation. The Bababudangiri issue has resulted in criminal cases being filed against several party workers. Eviction of farmers from forest areas without proper rehabilitation is another major problem, the memorandum said.

The BJP leaders have reiterated that a person from the district will be in a better position to understand and respond to these problems. They have said that the leaders and workers have built the party from scratch in the region once considered the stronghold of the Congress.

The signatories include all office-bearers of the party as well as the president, the vice-president and the BJP members of the Chikmagalur City Municipal Council.

There have been no ministers from the district after the end of the S.M. Krishna Government tenure in 2004. Mr. Krishna had inducted D.B. Chandre Gowda, Motamma and C.R. Sageer Ahmed into his Cabinet.

The performance of the BJP in the Assembly elections this time has been impressive. It won four of the five seats in the district.

While D.N. Jeevaraj, M.P. Kumaraswamy and C.T. Ravi were re-elected from Sringeri, Mudigere and Chikmagalur constituencies, D.S. Suresh, a newcomer, won the Tarikere segment.

When Mr. Kumaraswamy’s chances of securing a ministerial berth receded after a large number of BJP candidates were elected from reserve constituencies, Mr. Jeevaraj and Mr. Ravi, who hail from Vokkaliga community, were confident of being selected. Mr. Jeevaraj was the chief whip in the Legislative Assembly in the previous term.

Recommended for you