Poll outcome may cause surprise

Seeking votes: Congress candidate S.G. Anupama campaigning in Holenarsipur on Thursday.

Seeking votes: Congress candidate S.G. Anupama campaigning in Holenarsipur on Thursday.  

Shama Sunder

Janata Dal (Secular) grip on Hassan district appears to be slipping

Since Independence, Arsikere has elected candidates belonging to Veerashaiva community

Hallimysore hobli in Arkalgud has 20,000 Kurubas who will back Siddaramaiah

HASSAN: Hassan district is heading for a surprise outcome in the Assembly elections. The Janata Dal (Secular) grip on the district appears to be slipping.

H.D. Revanna, who was the district in-charge Minister for Hassan in the Dharam Singh and H.D. Kumarswamy governments, got over Rs. 2,500 crore sanctioned for development works. However, the district also saw the maximum number of farmer suicides, the Vidharba package was not implemented, farmer’s lands were acquired for industrial projects, support price for copra was not announced and the elephant menace was not curbed. This has added to the problems of the Janata Dal (S).

Five former Ministers — H.D. Revanna, B. Shivaram, H.K. Kumaraswamy, H.C. Srikantaiah and K.H. Hanume Gowda are in the fray in the district.

There is only one woman candidate in the district. The Congress has fielded S.G. Anupama, daughter-in-law of the former Minister G. Puttaswamy Gowda, in Holenarsipur against Mr. Revanna.

In Sakleshpur (reserved) constituency, the BJP has fielded Nirvanaiah, who is a retired tahsildar. He served as tahsildar for four years in Sakleshpur After the delimitation of Assembly constituencies, their number has come down to seven from eight. Hallimysore hobli, which has a population of 60,000, with 20,000 belonging to the Kuruba community and which was earlier in Holenarsipur, has been merged with Arkalgud. This may come in the way of victory for the Janata Dal (S) candidate from Arkalgud, A.T. Ramaswamy, as the Kuruba community is behind the former Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiahm who is with the Congress.

Since Independence, Arsikere has elected only candidates belonging to the Veerashiva community. This time the Congress has fielded the former MLA Siddappa who belongs to the Veerashaiva community. The Janata Dal (S) has fielded Shivalinge Gowda who belongs to the Vokkaliga community.

In Hassan, Congress candidate and the former Minister B. Shivaram is ahead of the other candidates. Earlier, he represented Gandsi for four terms and but after delimitation this constituency has been scrapped.

In Belur, Congress has fielded the former MP Rudresh Gowda who was earlier in the Janata Dal (S) and a follower of Mr. Deve Gowda. In Shravanabelagola, the fight is between H.C. Srikantaiah of the Congress and C.S. Putte Gowda of the Janata Dal (S).

In 2004, the Congress won from Gandsi while the BJP won from Arsikere. The Janata Dal (S) won the remaining six constituencies.

In 1999, Janata Dal (S) lost as the Congress won in Gandsi, Holenarsipur, Arsikere and Shravanabelagola, while the BJP won in Arkalgud, Hassan, Sakleshpur and Belur.

The 1999 results are set to be repeated in Hassan as the Congress is well ahead.

Recommended for you