No-trust motion against APMC chiefs defeated

Staff Correspondent

BIDAR: The no-confidence motion moved against president of the Bidar Agricultural Produce Marketing Committee (APMC) Vijaykumar Anneppa Anande and vice-president Govardhan Rathod was defeated on Wednesday.

Later, Mr. Anande told presspersons that eight members of the 16-member APMC were present at the meeting when the no-confidence motion was passed and none of them raised their hands in favour of the motion.

Mr. Anande said that members Kiran Chanda, Shankarappa Patil Atiwal and Annaveer had moved the motion against him and Mr. Rathod citing lack of development works in the APMC.

However, they did not succeed in their effort, Mr. Anande said and added that the members had reposed faith in him and Mr. Rathod.

Secretary of the Gulbarga APMC K.S. Vittalkash, who was the returning officer, announced the results.

Mr. Anande said that Mr. Chanda, Mr. Atiwal and Mr. Annaveer did not attend the meeting. Members Vijaykumar, Rathidevi, Baburao Hanamathrao Biradar, Kallappa Benekanahalli and Bandeppa Kandagule were also absent.

Recommended for you