Hubli-Dharwad to be brought under JNNURM

Staff Correspondent

Delegation meets Jaipal Reddy

29 cities to be developed under JNNURM

Cities with five-lakh population eligible

Hubli: Union Minister for Urban Development Jaipal Reddy has said that Hubli-Dharwad would be included under the Jawaharlal Nehru Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) in the second phase.

Hubli Dharwad Mayor Viranna Savadi told presspersons here on Saturday that he along with Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister Jagadish Shettar and MP Pralhad Joshi had met Mr. Jaipal Reddy in New Delhi on January 13. Mr. Savadi said the Union Urban Development Minister had said that it had been decided to include cities with five-lakh population as per the 2001 census under the JNNURM and there were 29 such cities in the country. There were three such cities in Karnataka and Mr. Reddy had assured them that the twin cities would be given priority.

Recommended for you