Four JD(S) members of Haliyal TP join hands with Congress


Karwar: Four Janata Dal (Secular) members of the Haliyal Taluk Panchayat have joined hands with the Opposition Congress to move a motion of no confidence against taluk panchayat president Demani Shiroji of the JD(S).

The four JD(S) members — Basanna Kurubagatti, Narayan Kammar, Rakhi Mindolkar and Fakiravva Kolikoppa — along with the Congress members of the panchayat met the Deputy Commissioner of Uttara Kannada district on Friday in Karwar to give a notice on moving the no-confidence motion against Mr. Shiroji.

Both JD(S) and Congress have 10 members each in the 21-member taluk panchayat. One independent member is supporting the JD(S).

When contacted, Mr. Shiroji said that he was surprised over the move by his party members. He said that everyone including JD(S) MLA for Haliyal Suneel Hegde knew the efforts he had made to build the party in the taluk. Some party workers who could not see him rising in politics had hatched this conspiracy, he said.

Mr. Shiroji said he could not contact Mr. Hegde as the latter was busy with the Assembly session in Belgaum. The issue had been brought to the notice of the party high command, he added.

Recommended for you