Dhruvanarayan achieves hat trick

Staff Correspondent

MYSORE: The strategy employed by political veterans such as former Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and former Union Minister V. Srinivasa Prasad to wrest Chamarajanagar Parliamentary seat, once a bastion of the Congress, finally yielded results with R. Dhruvanarayan of the Congress defeating his nearest rival A.R. Krishnamurthy of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with a slender margin of 4,002 votes.

While Mr. Dhruvanarayan polled 3,69,970 votes, Mr. Krishnamurthy secured 3,65,968 votes. M. Shivanna of Janata Dal (Secular) who defected from the Congress just before the election, lost his deposit as he secured only 1,06,869 votes and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate N. Mahesh secured 68,446 votes.

It is significant that the Congress broke the Janata Parivar citadel after a gap of nearly 13 years. After the Janata Dal wrested the constituency from the Congress in 1996, the Janata Pariver established its control over the constituency, with Siddaraju A. of Janata Dal winning in 1996 and 1998, V. Srinivasa Prasad of Janata Dal (United) winning in 1999 and Kagalavadi Shivanna of Janata Dal (Secular) in 2004.

Hat trick

Mr. Dhruvanarayan achieved a hat trick by defeating Mr. Krishnamurthy thrice. He defeated him in the 2004 Assembly elections from Santemarahalli Assembly segment by a single vote and again defeated him in 2008 from Kollegal Assembly constituency, again by a slender margin. It is significant that Mr. Dhruvanarayan secured maximum votes (57, 814) votes in Varuna Assembly constituency which is being represented by Mr. Siddaramaiah.


Mr. Dhruvanarayan said he was indebted to Mr. Siddaramaiaha. He added that he would try to remove the ‘backward’ tag attached to the constituency by promoting tourism and providing priority to education, irrigation and an industrial environment.

Recommended for you