Denial of ticket sparks a slew of political switchovers

Special Correspondent

Parties vie with one another in welcoming the disappointed

BJP has given ticket to newcomers in five Assembly segments

Congress has given ticket to two who quit JD(S)

GULBARGA: Most of those in Hyderabad-Karnataka region who were denied ticket by their respective parties to contest the Assembly elections have switched their political loyalties. These switchovers seem to have benefited the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) the most.

In Gulbarga district, which has 13 Assembly constituencies, the BJP has given ticket to newcomers in five segments. The Congress has given ticket to two who quit the Janata Dal (Secular), in Shahapur and Aland.

The Janata Dal (S) has given ticket to Shivashekarappa Patil Sirwal in Shahapur and Subash Guttedar in Aland. Both the leaders joined the party after quitting the Congress.

M.Y. Patil who resigned from the Janata Dal (S) has been given ticket by the BJP in Afzalpur. Veerbasantreddy Mudnal, who was with the Janata Dal (S), was given the BJP ticket in Yadgir.

The BJP waited till the last minute to accommodate Narasimha Naik as the party candidate in Surpur after the Congress denied him ticket. In Gurmitkal constituency, the BJP has given the ‘B’ form to Vittal Heroor who joined the party just a day before the date of filing nomination papers.

The BJP had given ticket to new entrant B.G. Patil, an industrialist, to contest from the Muslim-dominated Gulbarga North Constituency.


Dayanand Patil, senior party worker who had sought the ticket for the constituency, has filed his nomination papers as an independent.

The decision of the Congress to give ticket for the Shahapur seat to the former Minister Sharanabasappa Dharshanapur, who resigned from the JD(S) recently, and B.R. Patil, the former Janata Dal (S) MLA, for Aland has not gone down well with old-timers in the party.

Protesting against the candidature of Mr. Dharshanapur, Mr. Sirwaland Mr. Guttedar have resigned from the Congress. Both of them are contesting the elections as Janata Dal (S) candidates.

In Bidar, the former Minister Basavaraj Patil Attur, who was denied the Congress ticket in Basavakalyan constituency, is contesting as a BJP candidate from the segment.

The Congress stemmed the rebellion in its rank and accommodated senior party leader Gurupadappa Nagamarpalli in Bidar City Constituency after his traditional Aurad constituency became a reserved seat following delimitation.


In Raichur district, the former Minister Muniyappa Muddappa, who was in the Janata Dal(S) till the elections were announced, surprised political observers by joining the BJP and seeking the party ticket to contest the Raichur City seat. But when it was known that he would not get the ticket, he joined the Samajwadi Party (SP). He is contesting from Raichur City on an SP ticket.

Back in JD(S)

Raja Rangappa Naik quit the Janata Dal (S) and joined the Congress some time ago only to resign and join the BJP on the eve of the elections. After being denied the BJP ticket for Raichur Rural segment, he rejoined the Janata Dal(S) which nominated him from the constituency.

The former Minister Amaregowda Bayyapur, three-time MLA of Lingasugar, who resigned from the Janata Dal(S) has been accommodated by the Congress in Kustagi.

Recommended for you