BJP candidate is Chamarajanagar CMC president


Nagaraj of JD(S) withdraws nomination papers

No confidence motion moved against ex-chief

Chamarajanagar: Mahadeva Nayaka of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected president of Chamarajanagar City Municipal Council (CMC) here on Wednesday.

Mr. Nayaka and K. Nagaraju of the Janata Dal (Secular) filed their nomination papers in the afternoon.

The post fell vacant after president C.S. Suresh Naika lost power after a no-confidence motion was moved against him by 24 members of the 31-member city municipal council in December last.

The Congress has 9 members, the Janata Dal (Secular) 8, Bharatiya Janata Party 6, Kannada Chaluvali Vatal Paksha 5, Bahujan Samaj Party 1 in the CMC. Besides, the CMC has two independent members.

The posts of president and vice-president were reserved for the ST and BCM(A) categories, respectively.

Mr. Nagaraj withdrew his nomination papers during the meeting.

Assistant Commissioner and election officer Sathyabhama declared Mr. Nayaka elected unopposed.

Recommended for you