Arakalgud TP: 10 members join BJP

Staff Correspondent

Six are from JD(S) and four are from Congress

Ruling Janata Dal (Secular) reduced to minority

BJP to move no-confidence motion against president Janaki Narayana on Tuesday

Hassan: Ten members of the Arakalgud Taluk Panchayat of the Hassan District joined the Bharatiya Janata Party on Saturday in Belgaum in the presence of Health Minister B. Sriramulu, Tourism Minister G. Janardhana Reddy, MLA C.T. Ravi, BJP leader Sanjay Betageri and Hassan District BJP general secretary Lohith Gowda Kunduru.

Mr. Lohith Gowda, in a telephonic conversation with The Hindu said that of the ten members who joined the BJP, six were from the Janata Dal (Secular) and four were from the Congress.

Taluk panchayat vice-president Mahadesh, members Madhukar, Sanjeeve Gowda, Hulukodaiah, Parvathamma and Lakshmilakshman were members from the JD (S) who joined the BJP.

Gayathri, Mohan, Mahadevamma and Gowramma were members from the Congress who joined the BJP. In the wake of the fact that ten from the 19-member taluk panchayat have joined the BJP, the present body headed by the JD (S) is reduced to a minority. Mr. Lohith Gowda informed that the BJP members would move a no-confidence motion against president Janaki Narayana on Tuesday.

Recommended for you