Approval for 2,215 derecognised schools

Special Correspondent

Errant institutions have to pay fine, abide by language policy in four years

BANGALORE: The State Government has given its approval to 2,215 primary schools which were given notice of de-recognition on charges of flouting the language policy.

The schools, which had obtained permission to impart education in Kannada, were running English-medium schools on the sly. Minister for Primary and Secondary Education Basavaraj Horatti took a firm stand last year that the schools concerned should close down irrespective of the difficulties to be faced by children and their parents. The State Cabinet, which met here on Thursday, ratified the proposal of a Cabinet Subcommittee, including imposing a penalty on the schools that violated the language policy. However, the schools concerned have to impart education in Kannada for students admitted to the first standard from the coming academic year and progressively introduce it to the second, third and fourth standards over the next three years. The schools concerned have to abide by the language policy in four years.

The Cabinet also approved the penalty to be imposed on such schools. The schools in rural areas have to pay a fine of Rs. 25,000, those in smaller towns and two-tier cities a fine of Rs. 50,000 and those in major cities a fine of Rs. 1 lakh. Mr. Horatti had earlier indicated that he was firm that all schools abided by the language policy and he would not be a party to any relaxation. The subcommittee however, felt the Government should issue a fresh deadline for the total implementation of the language policy.