An ambitious scheme will take off in this hamlet

Special Correspondent

President Abdul Kalam to launch `Suvarna Gramodaya' in Srinivas Saradgi village

It is aimed at providing basic facilities in villages1,012 villages to get Rs. 1 crore each in the first phase

GULBARGA: The State Government has chosen the tiny Srinivas Saradgi village in Gulbarga taluk of the district for President A.P.J. Abdul Kalam to launch Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy's pet project "Suvarna Gramodaya programme" designed to provide basic facilities in villages.

The President, who would be on a day's visit to the State on February 25, would fly to Belgaum to participate in the convocation of the Visvesvaraya Technological University. He will later reach Gulbarga to inaugurate the Suvarna Gramodaya programme in Srinivas Saradgi village on the Waghdhari-Ravalpalli inter-State highway.

Chitapur MLA Vishwanath Patil Hebbal, addressing a press conference here on Saturday, said the Chief Minister would preside over the inaugural function. Deputy Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa and Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Minister C.M. Udasi and other Ministers would attend.

Although Srinivas Saradgi village is in Gulbarga taluk, it is included in the Chitapur Assembly Constituency.

Mr. Kalam would leave for Hyderabad on his way back to New Delhi the same day.

Roads, water and more

The State Government will launch the Suvarna Gramodaya programme in 1,012 villages in the first phase this year by allocating a minimum of Rs. 1 crore to each village for taking up development projects, including internal roads, drainage, drinking water facilities and improving sanitation facilities.

Mr. Kumaraswamy had announced the plans to launch a special programme for development of villages, which lacked basic amenities, during one of his overnight stay in villages.

A total of 68 villages in the district have been included in the Suvarna Gramodaya programme. This includes Mannur village in Afsalpur taluk where Mr. Kumaraswamy had stayed overnight a couple of months back.

The largest beneficiary is Surpur where 11 villages have been included in the programme followed by eight each in Aland and Chitapur, 7 each in Jewargi and Shahapur, 6 each in Yadgir, Gulabrga and Chincholi taluk, and 4 each in Sedam and Afsalpur taluk.


The State Government has sanctioned a total of Rs. 68.8 crore for the selected villages to take up development works under the programme. The allocations for individual villages ranged from Rs. 49.55 lakh to Rs. 2.6 crore.

The allocations were made on the basis of the population in the villages selected. While Mannur with a population of 10,806 has been allocated Rs. 2.6 crore under the programme, Kaladevarahalli in Surpur with a population of 2,095 has been allocated Rs. 49.55 lakh under the programme.