20 arrested in Sira

Staff Correspondent

TUMKUR: The police on Saturday arrested 20 youth with regard to the Friday’s communal clashes in Sira in Tumkur district.

Kamal Pant, Inspector-General of Police (Central Range), who visited Sira, and Harsha P.S., Superintendent of Police, gave the names of the arrested persons as Mukhtiyar, Khaleel, Mubharak, Iyat Sab, Rehan Pasha, Ismail, Shabhir, Nadeem, Niyaz Khan, Pyarejan, Illiad, Hanumantharaju, Umesh, Mallesh, Shivamurthy, Nagaraj, Devaraj, Raghavendra, Bhaskar and Srirangappa.

The authorities decided to continue the ban orders in Sira Town and its surroundings till January 29.

Sira Town remained shut on Saturday. Barring residents of the town, the police prevented all people from entering the town.

The affected areas of Mehboob Nagar and Park Mohalla in the town were heavily guarded.

T.B. Jayachandra, Deputy Leader of Congress Legislature Party, who represents Sira in the Assembly, held a peace committee meeting in the evening.

B. Satyanarayana, former Minister and Janata Dal (Secular) leader, and Devanahalli Manjunath, senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader and several senior citizens from among the Hindus and the Muslims attended.

Recommended for you