19 sportspersons to get Ekalavya Award

Minister for Youth Services and Sports M.P. Appachu Ranjan on Monday announced the names of 19 sportspersons who will be presented the Ekalavya Award.

While two of the 19 sportspersons will be given the award for the year 2010, 17 have been chosen for 2011.

And, four sportspersons will be presented the Lifetime Achievement Award, said Mr. Ranjan.

The awards will be presented to the winners at the Banquet Hall in the Vidhana Soudha by Chief Minister Jagdish Shettar on August 29, Mr. Ranjan added.

The Ekalavya awardees for 2011 are: Vinay Kumar from Bangalore (cricket), A.B. Cheeyanna from Kodagu (hockey), Mamata Poojari from Udupi (kabaddi), . Kashinath Naik from Sirsi (athletics), Kruthika Lakshman from Mysore (basketball), Stanley G.A. from Shimoga (chess), H. Neha from Dakshina Kannada (power lifting), Rajesh Manpath from Bangalore (rifle shooting), Prateek Raj from Bangalore (roller skating), A.P. Gagan Ullalmath from Bangalore (swimming), H.S. Chandrashouri Devi from Bhadravathi (weightlifting), Nadia Haridas from Bangalore (equestrian), Sabu Eshwar Ganager from Bijapur (cycling), N. Shweta from Bijapur (volleyball), Roshan Farao from Mangalore (body building), S. Naveen from Mandya (karate) and sportsperson with physical disability C.V. Rajanna from Kolar (badminton).

2010 awards

The two sportspersons who will be presented the Ekalavya Award for the year 2010 are: sportsperson with physical disability Rajesh Shinde from Belgaum (swimming) and H.A. Prajna from Mysore (roller skating).

Lifetime award

Four sportspersons who will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award are weightlifting coach Shyamala Shetty from Bangalore, hockey coach C.U. Ashwath from Kodagu, swimming coach Pradeep Kumar from Bangalore and cycling coach Chandrappa Mallappa Kurani from Bagalkot.

The Ekalavya Award comprises a purse of Rs. 2 lakh. Besides that, sportsmen will be presented a a coat, a neck tie, a pair of trousers and a blazer while sportswomen will be presented a silk sari worth Rs. 10,000.

The Lifetime Achievement Award comprises a purse of Rs. 1.5 lakh.


Mr. Ranjan said that 93 applications had been received for the Ekalavya Award while 40 had applied for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Minister said that they had chosen the awardees in a transparent manner without giving in to any sort of pressure.

Recommended for you