1,647 voters for parishat polls

Special Correspondent

Electorate list on display at taluk office

MANGALORE: The draft list of the district-wise voters, who are eligible to cast their votes for the posts of president of Kannada Sahitya Parishat and presidents of the partishat’s district or border area units, is on display at the taluk office here. There are 1,647 votes in Dakshina Kannada for the August-24 elections.

Addressing presspersons here on Friday, tahsildar Raju Mogaveera said that objections for the draft voters’ list, if any, would be received till June 20. The final list would be published on July 10.

The voters’ list includes 753 names from Mangalore taluk, 266 from Bantwal, 241 from Belthangady, 165 from Puttur and 222 from Sullia.

The elections are scheduled for August 24 at taluk offices between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. As per the calendar events, nominations can be filed from July 14 to 21. Their scrutiny will take place on July 23 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is July 26 culminating in the announcement of the final list of contestants that day. Elections will be held on August 24 followed by counting of votes the same day.

Mr. Mogaveera said that the taluk election officers had been asked to count the votes and send the results to tahasildars at district headquarters, who would announce the winners for district units the same day.

The name of victorious president of the parishat would be announced on August 26, he said. People from border areas, “Gadinadu” and from outside the State, “Horanadu” could mail their ballots by registered post to Kannada Shitya Parishat, Bangalore, before August August 25.

Recommended for you