Students say it with colours

Staff Reporter

HYDERABAD: The State-level painting competition on energy conservation held in the city on Monday resulted in a large pool of practical ideas, all coming from school children.

Organised by the National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC), as part of its National Campaign on Energy Conservation, it was an attempt to tune in young minds on energy saving mode.

"I feel very happy," smiled R. Raju, student of G.S R. Model Public School, Guntur whose painting was adjudged the best out of 49 students from 350 schools across the State. NTPC had received 700 entries from 350 schools of which 50 students were called for State-level competition at JNTU.

Through his painting Raju communicated practical tips to conserve energy like switching off lights while leaving home, switching the pump off once the water tank is full, and finishing cooking preparations prior to starting the electric heater.

National final

Raju along with the second prizewinner D. Sai Praneeth will now represent the State at the National final on December 11.

One could pick up many practical tips from the large pool of doable ideas in student's paintings.

"Switch me on once and let the entire family have a bath one after the other, said the bright heater from one painting. "Don't let me run unnecessarily,' chipped in the T.V. While the steaming hot iron box cried not to be left idle once switched on. Messages to tap alternate energy sources like solar, wind and biogas too were communicated.

"Once the ideas have come from them, they will try to implement these and save energy," said I.S.S. Reddy Manager, Total Quality Management at NTPC. Agreed parents and teachers.

State Minister for Information and Public Relations, Energy and Coal, Mohammed Ali Shabber handed over the prizes to the winners and congratulated NTPC for coming up with this unique idea of spreading the message of energy conservation.

Other prizewinners include: M. Sanjana(third prize), Consolation prizes -- Arza Adelwala, D. Pratibha, G. Shreya, Jeewesh Kumar Hindwar and V. Apoorva won the consolation prizes.

Principal Secretary, Education, P. Krishniah announced two special consolation prizes to Keerthi Sohana and Akhil Chaudhary

Recommended for you