State will introduce computers in schools in a big way, says YSR

ALL SMILES: Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy with Zonal Bala Sree awardees at the Children's Day celebrations in Hyderabad on Saturday. - Photo: Mohd. Yousuf  

Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy has said that the Government is planning to introduce computers in a big way in schools. He has also stressed the need for imparting quality education to enable students to face competition in the era of globalisation.

Speaking at the Children's Day celebrations on Saturday, Dr. Reddy said that computers were already installed in some 1,000 schools at a cost of Rs. 227 crores and called for tapping talent and encouraging merit.

Basic amenities

Underscoring the importance of education, he said that the Government was making all efforts to bring 4.23 lakh children to school as they were out of it. He reiterated that steps were being taken to see that all schools had basic amenities in the next two to three years.

\A sum of Rs. 900 crores would be spent to improve infrastructure, including Rs. 620 crores under Sarva Siksha Abhiyan. School Education Minister N. Rajyalakshmi said that a health insurance scheme would be introduced from the next academic year, as Dr. Reddy was keen on it.

Awards presented

UNICEF's State representative Michel St. Lot listed out seven issues to be addressed, including the problems of infant mortality and iodine deficiency.

Earlier, the Chief Minister launched `Kishora Shakthi Yojana' under which 4.5 lakh girls in the age group of 11-18 would be trained to act as social agents. He also released posters on child growth and prevention of child trafficking.

He also gave away `Zonal Bala Sree' State awards and `Pratibha Rajiv Puraskar' to five eminent persons - S.Sadasiva (literature), Puranam Purushottam Sastry (music), G.V. Chalapathi (social service), Madduri Vijayalakshmi (drama) and Bylati Ramachandraiah (folk arts). Each of them was presented a cash reward of Rs.50,000 and a citation. G. Sarveswar Rao (education), who was also selected for the award, however, could not attend. Information and Public Relations Minister Mohammed Shabbir Ali, MP, Anjan Kumar Yadav, and senior journalist Potturi Venkateswara Rao also attended.