SSC examination timings changed

Staff Reporter

It will now be held from 9.30 a.m. to 12 noon to suit students' convenience

HYDERABAD: For the first time, timings of the School Secondary Certificate (SSC) examination in the State have been changed. They will now be conducted from 9.30 a.m. to noon between March 20 and April 4.

Announcing this at a press conference here on Saturday, School Education Minister N. Rajyalakshmi urged parents and students to note the change. Control rooms at both the State and district-level were being set up and anyone could contact telephone numbers 040-23237343 or 040-23237344 for details.

She said the Government was all set with arrangements for the smooth conduct of the exam to be taken by about 11.94 lakh candidates. Referring to the APSRTC offer of free transport for students to the exam centres, Ms. Rajyalakshmi clarified that only those who had a student route pass would be allowed free travel on production of both the pass and hall ticket. While the regular pass would be proof of their point of origin, the hall ticket would serve as proof of their destination.

LPCET results out

Releasing the results of the Language Pundits Common Entrance Examination (LPCET), the Minister stated that of 48,305 candidates who appeared for Telugu, Hindi and Urdu, 36,617 had qualified for the interview. There were 5,180 posts and the break-up includes 1,750 (Telugu), 3,330 (Hindi) and 100 (Urdu). Ms. Rajyalakshmi said while the merit cards had been despatched to eligible candidates, dates for counselling would be announced soon.

Officers named

Special Correspondent writes: Director of Government Examinations G.V. Subba Rao named four officers who could be contacted in case of any problems connected with the public examination. Each officer was allotted several districts.

The officers and the districts allotted to them are: G. Venkateswara Rao (cell no. 98499-01358), Deputy Commissioner for Government Examinations (DCGE) - Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Nellore, Ranga Reddy and Hyderabad.

Y. Pavan Kumar (cell no. 98499-01360), DCGE - Chittoor, Kadapa, Kurnool, Anantapur, Nizamabad, Khammam, Adilabad, Karimanagar, Nalgonda, Warangal, Mahabubnagar and Medak. V. Ranga Chary (cell no. 98499-01360), DCGE, general issues. H. Leela (cell no.98499-01359), Assistant Commissioner for Government Examinations, general issues.