`Sealed cover' in Bandar, Nuzvid

Too many aspirants for civic chief posts

Special Correspondent

VIJAYAWADA: Sealed covers from the Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee will decide the candidates for the posts of municipal chairperson in Machilipatnam and Nuzvid. As the election for the posts of chairmen and vice-chairmen in all the five municipalities in the district is slated for Friday morning, Congressmen are waiting anxiously to know the outcome of the sealed covers.

With too many aspirants angling for the coveted positions in these two towns, the party leaders could not zero in on one candidate each in both municipalities. Machilipatnam MLA Perni Venkataramaiah (Nani) is trying to persuade his supporters to support the decision of the party's State leadership. The squabbling groups led by MLA Meka Venkata Pratap Appa Rao and former Minister Paladugu Venkata Rao forced the APCC leadership to take to the `sealed cover method' even in Nuzvid Municipality.

Whip issued

The Congress issued a whip nominating Sriram Rajagopal (Tataiah) as its chairman nominee in Jaggayyapet. Similarly, the TDP nominated Lankadasari Prasada Rao and Boddu Padmaja Kumari as its candidates for the posts of chairperson in Gudivada and Pedana municipalities respectively where the party won a majority of wards.

District Collector Navin Mittal asked the revenue divisional officers and municipal commissioners concerned to follow the guidelines issued by the State Election Commission for the conduct of elections to the posts of chairmen and vice-chairmen of the five municipalities. He told the officials that based on the option exercised by legislators and MPs, they should be treated as ex-officio members of the respective municipalities. The option once given by the legislators and MPs could not be changed in future. The Collector said that the election to the municipal chairmen should be conducted in the council halls of the respective municipalities. Seats should be allotted to the councillors based on the order of seniority preferred by each political party. He asked the municipal commissioners concerned to grant passes to mediapersons. . All the elected members must be made to append their signatures in the register concerned confirming their election.

Recommended for you