Rs. 114.3-crore SHG linkage target for Vizag district

Staff Reporter

Interest subsidy of Rs. 2.8 crores on soft loans

Rs. 39.85 lakhs sanctioned as revolving fund during the year so farMeasures are being initiated to launch bulk milk cooling centres SHG members provided insurance cover with a annual premium of Rs.100.

VISAKHAPATNAM: The District Rural Development Authority (DRDA) in the district has been set a target of sanctioning a financial linkage of Rs.114.3 crores to self-help groups and Rs.43 crores for 250 gramaikya sanghams (federation of SHGs at the village level). Members of self-help groups who got loans under the 25 paise interest scheme have been given an interest subsidy of Rs. 2.8 crores during 2006-07.

Revolving funds

According to DRDA project director K. Kannababu, Rs. 39.85 lakhs had been sanctioned as revolving fund during the year so far. It was not released in view of the panchayat election code in force till recently. It would be released to SHGs during the current month.

Under the National Old Age pension, eligible poor, physically challenged, widows and weavers, all above 65 years and totalling 1,25,885, would get Rs. 200 each per month through mandal samakhyas (federation of gramikya sanghams at the mandal level).

Milk centres

Measures were being initiated to launch bulk milk cooling centres under mandal samakhyas and milk collection centres under gramikya sangham.

Under the Swarnajayanthi Gram Swarozgari Yojana, a self-employment scheme, of the Rs.313.58 lakhs outlay for 2004-05, Rs.310.98 lakhs had been spent and of the Rs. 308.17 lakhs for 2005-06, Rs.148.04 lakhs had been spent.

Under the district federation, SHG members were provided insurance cover with a low annual premium of Rs.100. For milk cattle too, insurance cover was being provided at a premium of Rs.200. Under the National Family Benefit Scheme, 1,005 persons had received an assistance of Rs.50.25 lakhs.

Wide participation

The governing body meeting of the District Rural Development Authority was held early this week with Commercial Taxes Minister Konathala Ramakrishna in the chair.

Progress since 2004-05 had been reviewed. MLAs Ch. Ayyanna Patrudu, Lake Raja Rao, K. Dharmasri, Gandi Babji, T. Gurumurthy Reddy, Kanna Babu and District Collector A.K. Singhal participated.

Recommended for you