Presiding officers named for chairperson elections

Need to ensure presence of at least 50 per cent councillors, says district Collector

Special Correspondent

ONGOLE: All arrangements have been made for election of municipal chairpersons and vice-chairpersons in Ongole, Chirala and Markapur municipalities at 11 am on Friday.

Selection method

District Collector, B. Udaya Lakshmi, appointed G. Satyanarayana, PA to Special Collector, Velugonda project, as presiding officer for Ongole, Panduranga Rao, District Manager (Housing), as presiding officer for Chirala and Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad, Neelakantham, as presiding officer for Markapur.

Addressing a meeting of the election officials here on Thursday, she asked them to conduct the election of chairman and vice-chairman in a transparent manner. The presiding officers should ensure that at least 50 per cent of the councillors are present for the election to meet quorum requirement. After receiving nominations, the councillors would elect the chairman and vice-chairman by raising hands.

She said that the election to chairman and vice-chairman posts should be conducted either on September 30 or Oct 1.

Recommended for you