Pensioners to support Congress

VISAKHAPATNAM, MARCH. 3. The annual general body meeting of the Visakhapatnam District Government Pensioners Association resolved to support the Congress party in the ensuing elections to ensure security and peace for the pensioners and their families.

Addressing the meeting the president of the State Pensioners Association, T. Gopalakrishna Murthy, said that the Government had released five pending instalments of dearness allowance following the decision taken by the pensioners to vote against the Telugu Desam in the ensuing elections and the Congress party's promise to clear the DA arrears if it was elected to power. The following were elected as office-bearers of the district association: Ch. Sanyasi Raju (honorary president), D. Rama Murthy (president), Y.V. Krishna Rao (associate president), K. Hanumantha Rao, S. Govinda Rao, V. Saraswathi and A. Satyanarayana (vice-presidents), N. Madhava Sastry (general secretary), K. Sundara Shiva Rao (secretary), G.V. Krishna Rao and S. Sankara Rao (joint secretaries) and K. Venkata Raju (treasurer).