Party poll: PCC chief confers with YSR

HYDERABAD, NOV. 29. The APCC president, K. Kesava Rao, had a breakfast meeting here on Monday with the Chief Minister, Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, and the Pradesh Returning Officer, G.S. Basavaraj, former MP from Karnataka, ahead of the organisational elections of the State Congress.

The election process would begin on Tuesday with the PCC submitting a list of party members to the AICC and announcing District Returning Officers. Enrolment of members was likely to exceed 26 lakhs, Mr. Kesava Rao told reporters later.

He said the District Congress Committees (DCCs) would display the list of members after which objections would be received and their scrutiny held till January 8. A final list of members would be publicised on January 10.

The PCC president said the elections to booth, mandal and block Congress committees would be held from January 13 to 31.

Elections to DCCs would be held from March 7 to 14 and to the PCC and AICC membership on April 30.

Contests would be avoided as far as possible and efforts would be made to have unanimity in the choice of candidates, he added.

Recommended for you