Nandi awards presentation on February 18

HYDERABAD, FEB. 14. The Chief Minister, N. Chandrababu Naidu, will give away the Nandi awards for the year 2002 at a glittering function to be held at the Lalitha Kala Thoranam here on February 18.

The Kannada superstar, Raj Kumar, the veteran Telugu actress, Bhanumathi Ramakrishna, and noted filmmaker, Hrishikesh Mukherjee, would be presented with the prestigious NTR National Film Awards for the years 2002, 2001 and 2000 respectively for their outstanding contribution to Indian cinema. Veteran playback singer, Suseela, was chosen for the Raghupathi Venkaiah Award for the year 2002.

The Nandi awards committee headed by the former Karnataka Governor, V. S. Ramadevi, announced the winners last year. Megastar Chiranjeevi and Akkineni Nagarjuna shared the top honours winning the `best leading actor' award. Nagarjuna reaped a rich harvest with Manmadhudu, which he produced and acted in, winning the Golden Nandi award for the best feature film and his Santosham earning the bronze Nandi for the third best film award. Nuvve Nuvve was adjudged the second best feature film. Heroine Kalyani received the best actress award for her role in Avunu, Vallidaru Ishtapaddaru while Krishnavamsi was adjudged the `Best Director' and the K.V. Reddy award for his film Khadgam. The film also won the Sarojini Naidu Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration and Communal Harmony.

Following are some of the other important categories: Government of Andhra Pradesh and Dr. Akkineni Nageswara Rao award for best home viewing feature film - Vasu, best villain award - Gopichand and Ahuti Prasad, best supporting actor - Prakash Raj (Nuvve Nuvve), best supporting actress - Bhanupriya (Laahiri laahiri laahirilo), best comedian - Suman Setty (Jayam), best comedienne - Rama Prabha (Laahiri, laahiri laahirilo).

Best first film of a director - V.V. Vinayak for Aadhi, best story writer - P. Vijayasanthi (Manasunte Chaalu), best music director - M. M. Keeravani (Okato No. Kurradu), best male playback singer - S. P. Balasubrahmanyam (Vasu), best female playback singer - Usha (Nee Sneham) and best cinematographer award - Jaynan Vincent (Takkari Donga). Special jury awards were also announced for the young guns of the Telugu film industry - Junior NTR, Mahesh Babu and Ravi Teja for their performances in Aadhi, Takkari Donga and Khadgam respectively.

Recommended for you