Municipal teachers cry foul over awards selection panels

July 20, 2018 12:00 am | Updated 05:23 am IST - VIJAYAWADA

Fearing raw deal, they seek representation in committees

The School Education Department has set in motion the process of selecting candidates for the Best Teacher Awards - 2018 but the procedure is already under a cloud.

Commissioner of School Education K. Sandhya Rani released a circular inviting teachers across the 13 districts to stake claim to the award and announced committees at the mandal, district, division and State level for selection of candidates.

The fact that no representation has been given to the municipal school teachers in any of the four committees has irked the latter who are crying foul over the move.

“We do not want a repeat of last year’s sham. Of the 110 awards given to teachers for their good work, only three came to municipal school teachers. Does it mean that municipal schools do not have good teachers?” wonders Municipal Teachers’ Federation (MTF) State president S. Ramakrishna.

He demanded that the local Municipal Commissioners be included in the mandal and district-level committees while the Regional Director of Municipal Administration could represent the divisional-level panel and the Minister for Municipal Administration or the Secretary of the Department should find place in the State committee.


As per the guidelines sent to the District Education Officers (DEO), the aspiring teachers should apply online in the CSE with at least 20 years of experience and Teacher Educators working in the District Institute of Education and Training (DIET), the Institute of Advanced Study in Education (IASE) or the Career Technical Education (CTE) and the physical education colleges are eligible to apply.

Members of the selections committee will take into account factors like the academic standards of the students of the applicant, teaching methodology being followed, innovation if any, special efforts to improve enrolment and retention, sincerity and commitment and willingness to work in interior areas. The State selection committee has the HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao as its chairman, Special Chief Secretary, Secondary Education Department as vice-chairman and Director, State Council of Educational Research and Training (SCERT) and Principal, IASE, as members.

At the district-level, the Collector is the chairman and the DEO the convener with the Principal of the DIET, an eminent educationist, a district-level officer nominated by the Collector and a representative of a local NGO as members.

Deputy Education Officer is the chairman and a senior lecturer in DIET and an eminent educationist are members in the divisional-level panel while the mandal committees are represented by the Mandal Education Officer (MEO) as chairman and the headmaster of he local government school and another prominent local person as members.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.