Lack of enthusiasm over new TDP Politburo

HYDERABAD June 26. A distinct lack of enthusiasm was visible at NTR Bhavan today over the composition of the new team of Politburo and State executive members nominated by the TDP president, N. Chandrababu Naidu.

While the disappointment of those dropped as well as the hopefuls was to be expected, the party leadership was surprised over the reaction of some MPs and MLAs who were included in Mr. Naidu's team.

A feeling aired on the sidelines of the TDP's extended executive meeting here was that leadership had entrusted too many responsibilities on a chosen few and given important posts to relative newcomers. Yet another view was that the party had reposed too much confidence on leaders with high visibility by virtue of their presence in the party headquarters but who did not have much vote-catching abilities. A few others were heard remarking that the new executive would only promote groupism among partymen in the districts.

The Nalgonda MP, Gutta Sukhender Reddy, openly expressed his displeasure at Yadagirigutta on Wednesday by stating that the leadership had done injustice to party seniors. The Lok Sabha member, who earlier headed the disciplinary panel, is now chairman of the programmes committee.

The TD Parliamentary Party leader, K. Yerran Naidu, found himself stripped of the chairmanship of the Coordination Committee although he retained the post of politburo member. As if to compound his woes, the party leadership appointed his rival and Rajya Sabha member, K. Kala Venkata Rao, as general secretary. Yet another leader, Dadi Veerabhadra Rao, with whom Mr. Naidu does not see eye to eye, has been appointed as in- charge for Guntur district.

Party leaders also commented adversely about the multiple posts given to Ummareddy Venkateswarlu and C. Ramachandraiah, MPs. Both have been named as special invitees to the politburo and appointed as spokespersons. In addition, Dr. Venkateswarlu will head the party's HRD committee while Mr. Ramachandraiah will be in-charge of Visakhapathnam and East Godavari districts.

Another, MP, Lal Jan Basha, was retained as politburo member and also named as in-charge of Cuddapah and Kurnool districts. Tenali MLA, Gogineni Uma, who is in the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams Trust Board, was given an additional post -- disciplinary committee member.

The appointment of former CPI leader, Ch. Rajeshwara Rao, as vice-president, and former Congress Minister, P. Samanthakamani, as Treasurer also drew negative remarks since they are relatively new entrants to the TDP.

Recommended for you