Karimnagar gets its first woman ZP chair

Telangana Rashtra Samithi Kathalapur ZPTC member Tula Uma was unanimously elected chairperson of the Karimnagar Zilla Parishad here on Saturday. Husnabad ZPTC member R. Raji Reddy, also of the TRS, was elected vice-chairperson unopposed.

This is the first time that a woman has been elected chairperson of the ZP in the district. Ms.Uma belongs to the Backward Community.

During elections to the ZPTC, the TRS had bagged 41 of the 57 constituencies. The Congress’ tally was 14, followed by the TDP and the BJP with one constituency each.

Finance Minister Etela Rajender, Lok Sabha MPs B. Vinod Kumar and Balka Suman, legislators Gangula Kamalakar, Koppula Eshwar, D. Manohar Reddy, V. Satish Kumar, K. Vidyasagar Rao, S. Satyanarayana, Putta Madhukar and Ch. Ramesh were present. In-charge Collector Sarfaraz Ahmed conducted the proceedings. Later, a massive felicitation programme for Ms. Uma was conducted on the ZP premises.

Recommended for you