APCC chief seeks ticket for Nizamabad Assembly seat

NIZAMABAD, MARCH 3. The Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee president, D. Srinivas, and four former MLAs are among the 85 candidates who applied for nine Assembly constituencies and the Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat in the district. The process of sale and submission of application forms concluded on Wednesday. Mr. Srinivas applied for the Nizamabad Assembly seat.

Besides Mr. Srinivas, the former MLAs -- K.R. Suresh Reddy (Balkonda), Bajireddi Goverdhan (Armoor) and P. Sudarshan Reddy (Bodhan) -- submitted their applications. The former Minister and PCC vice-president, Md. Ali Shabbir, the former MLA and DCC chief, S. Gangaram, also applied for the ticket.

According to the PCC observer, Y. Qureshi, 12 applications were received for the Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat. The applicants included the PCC joint secretary, B. Mahesh Kumar Goud, the former MLA, A. Bal Reddy, the PCC legal cell convener, I. Gopal Sharma, and the senior party leader, R. Venkatram Reddy.

Eighteen candidates applied for the Banswada Assembly ticket. While the number of aspirants for Bodhan constituency was 11, it was 10 for Jukkal. Following is the break-up for other constituencies: Dichpalli (nine), Yellareddy (six), Nizamabad (four), Balkonda (three), Kamareddy (two) and Armoor (two).

The PCC chief's close follower till some time ago, Sailaja Venkateswara Rao, has applied for the Nizamabad Assembly seat. Similarly, the former Bodhan MLA, Sudarshan Reddy, and his staunch supporter, Hanimi Reddy, are in the race for the Bodhan ticket.