Young scientists to get awards

December 31, 2007 12:00 am | Updated April 29, 2011 06:00 pm IST

Staff Reporter

Indian Science Congress from January 3 to 7

VISAKHAPATNAM: The Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA), which is organising its annual conference in the city from January 3 to 7, has announced the Young Scientist Awards for 2007-08.

President Pratibha Patil and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will address scientists.

No one has been named for the award in medical sciences. The 95th Science Congress is being hosted by Andhra University. Following is the list of awardees: (Agriculture and Forestry Sciences) G. Manjunath, Applied Botany and Biotechnology, University of Mysore, (Animal Veterinary and Fishery Sciences) Shrikant Deorao Kalyankar, senior research fellow, Government of India project, Maharashtra, (Anthropological and Behavioural Sciences - including Archaeology and Psychology & Educational Sciences) Purnima Parashar, research scholar, Department of Anthropology, Punjab University, (Chemical Sciences) P. Lakshminarayanan, Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, (Earth System Sciences) Ravi Prakash Srivastava, scientist, National Geophysical Research Institute, (Engineering Sciences) J. Ramkumar, Assistant Professor, Manufacturing Sciences Laboratory, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, (Environmental Sciences) Bidisha Majumder, Environmental Engineering Division, Department of Civil Engineering, Jadavpur University, (Information and Communication Science & Technolgy (including Computer Sciences) Ankush Mittal, Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, (Material Sciences) Pradip Paik, Advanced Nano Engineering Materials Laboratory, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, (Mathematical Sciences (including Statistics) Avishek Adhikari, Department of Pure Mathematics, Calcutta University, (New Biology -including Biochemistry, Biophysics & Molecular Biology and Biotechnology) Renu Mohan, School of Biosciences & Bioengineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, (Physical Sciences) Netram Kaurav, Department of Physics, Institute of Science and Laboratory Education, IPS Academy Kalpana Awashi Department of Physics, Banaras Hindu University, (Plant Sciences) Mukesh Jain, research scientist, Department of Plant Molecular Biology, University of Delhi South Campus.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.