Victory for a grassroots partyman

Staff Reporter

VISAKHAPATNAM: A grassroots level partyman and two-time corporator, Tainala Vijay Kumar emerged the winner from the Visakhapatnam North Assembly constituency.

He polled 49,344 votes against his nearest Praja Rajyam rival Shireen Rehman’s 43,821 votes recording an emphatic victory by a margin of 5,523 votes.

TDP’s Bharanikana Jaya finished a poor third with 26,907 votes. Lok Satta’s P. Srinivas Mahesh polled who ran a focused campaign polled 7,736 votes surpassing P.V.N. Madhav of BJP who got 4,275 votes. Substantiating the post-poll talk of ‘cross voting’ in favour of Congress Lok Sabha nominee D. Purandeswari she got a majority of more than 14,000 (excluding postal ballots) in Visakhapatnam North Assembly constituency. In the polling for the segment for Lok Sabha also TDP’s M.V.V.S. Murthy finished third.

“YSR’s victory”

An elated Vijay Kumar said soon after the win that it was a victory for the Chief Minister’s development programmes implemented in the last five years.

Mr. Vijay Kumar caught the attention of the party top brass in the State by winning as corporator in the 2007 Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation elections as a Congress rebel and later extended support in the Mayoral election to the Congress nominee.

He was later rewarded with the City Congress president post and picked up to contest from the North constituency.

By winning, he retained the Congress seat though the massive margin got eroded mainly due to the presence of the PRP.

Recommended for you