Vallabhaneni Balashourie’s strategy fails

Sweet moment: Guntur MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao celebrating his victory along with family members in Guntur on Saturday. —

Sweet moment: Guntur MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao celebrating his victory along with family members in Guntur on Saturday. —   | Photo Credit: Photo: T. Vijaya Kumar

Special Correspondent

Congress bags Guntur and Bapatla Lok Sabha Seats, Narsaraopet goes to TDP

Praja Rajyam party fails to open account in the district

Seven of eight sitting Congress MLAs win the elections

GUNTUR: Congress won two of the three Lok Sabha constituencies, 11 of the 17 Assembly constituencies in Guntur district leaving six for Telugu Desam Party.

Praja Rajyam Party, however, failed to even open its account. Vallabhaneni Balashourie’s strategy to shift from Tenali to Narsaraopet Lok Sabha seat and change four sitting MLAs in Palnadu failed miserably, costing Congress the Lok Sabha seat and four Assembly segments.

The only consolation was Transport Minister Kanna Lakshmi Narayana’s victory from Guntur West after shifting from Pedakurapadu to Guntur-West and two other Ministers - Mopidevi Venkata Ramana (Repalle) and Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy (Narsaraopet) winning on Saturday.

Congress Guntur Lok Sabha candidate Rayapati Sambasiva Rao defeated Madala Rajendra (TDP) with a margin of 39,355 votes; in Narsaraopet Modugula Venugopala Reddy (TDP) beat Vallabhaneni Balashourie by a margin of 1,607.

In the Bapatla (SC) reserved Lok Sabha seat Panabaka Lakshmi (Cong.) defeated Malayadri Sriram of TDP by 69,143 votes.

The Narsaraopet Lok Sabha result has not yet been declared following an EVM in Pedakurapadu with 122 votes locked in it failing and the matter has been referred to the Election Commission of India, however, it was bound to make no difference in the final result.

Similar situation was witnessed in the Bapatla constituency where Gade Venkata Reddy was victorious by a margin of 1,350 votes over his TDP rival Chirala Govardhan Reddy.

Here also one EVM (with 75 votes) failed.

Seven of the eight sitting Congress MLAs, including Ministers renominated, could win except for Marri Rajasekhar from Chilakaluripet, who had won as an Independent in 2004, but joined Congress later.

At Mangalagiri relatively lesser known Congress candidate Kandru Kamala benefited from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) fielding its candidate against official Mahakutami candidate Muppalla Nageswara Rao of the CPI.

Telugu Desam former Ministers Alapati Rajendra Prasad and Kodela Siva Prasad were defeated in Tenali and Narsaraopet by Nadendla Manohar and Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy respectively, while party district president Prattipati Pulla Rao had a comfortable win over sitting MLA in Chilakaluripet.

Other seats that went to TDP were Pedakurapadu (K. Sridhar) vacated by Kanna Lakshmi Narayana, Gurazala - Yerapathineni Srinivasa Rao; Ponnur (Dhulipalla Narendra - sitting MLA).

Telugu Desam candidate from Vinukonda G.V. Anjaneyulu registered the highest margin of victory in the district winning by 24,102 votes against his Congress rival Chebrolu Narendranath.

Sattenapalli MLA Yerram Venkateswara Reddy could retain his seat defeating TDP’s Nimmakayala Rajanarayana.

Recommended for you