Top TDP leaders held, freed

GUNTUR: Telugu Desam Party leaders – Kodela Siva Prasada Rao, Alapati Rajendra Prasad, district unit president Prattipati Pulla Rao and others were arrested at Amruthaluru in Guntur district at midnight on Tuesday and were brought to Nagarampalem police station in the city.

The TDP leaders were released later in the morning on Wednesday.

The TDP leaders were arrested allegedly for trying to erect a shamiana and podium for a meeting of the grand alliance partners at Amruthaluru just before midnight and the police objected to the proposed meeting in view of the security needs of Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy passing that way as part of his Palle Bata on Wednesday.

Recommended for you