Telugu movie ‘Gamyam’ bags four Nandi Film Awards

Special Correspondent

For Best Director, Best Lyric Writer, Best Song, Best Supporting Actor

HYDERABAD: ‘Gamyam’, the Telugu movie about two friends on a motorcycle, bagged the Golden Nandi award for the Best Film while Ravi Teja (for ‘Neninthe’) and Swathi (‘Ashta Chamma’) won the awards for the Best Actor and Actress respectively.

As many as four awards were bagged by ‘Gamyam’, including Best Director award for Jagarlamudi Radha Krishna, Best Supporting Actor for E. Naresh and Best Lyric Writer for Ch. Seetharama Sastry and Best Song ‘Enthavaraku and Endukoraku’.

The Nandi Film Awards – 2008 were announced by the 14-member AP State Nandi Film Awards Committee headed by Thammareddy Bharadwaja on Saturday. Commissioner for Information C. Parthasarathy said that the awards would be presented in December first week. The Nandi TV awards would be announced in November and Nandi Theatre awards in January, 2010.

‘Vinayakudu’ and ‘Parugu’ won the second and third best feature film awards while ‘Ashta Chamma’ got the best home-viewing feature film and ‘Ready’, the best popular feature film award. The special jury awards went to Anushka for her role in ‘Arundhati’, Allu Arjun for ‘Parugu’, and the film ‘Bathukamma’.

There were no eligible entries for the first best film award under the children’s, documentary and education film categories. Mr. Bharadwaja said that the quality of the film entries they received was much better this year. The jury also sent a message, by not giving ‘first best’ award when there were no deserving entries in some categories, that only quality work would be considered for the awards.

Following are some of the Nandi awards won under various categories: Best feature film on national integration: 1940 Lo Oka Gramam; Best character actor - Mukku Raju; Best comedian – Brahmanandam (Ready); Best Villain – Sonu Sood (Arundhati); Best child actor- Master Bharath (Ready); Best child actress- Baby Divya Nagesh (Arundhati); Best first film of a director- Sai Kiran Adavi (Vinayakudu); Best screenplay writer - A. Karunakaran (Ullasanga Uthsahanga) ; Best story writer – R.P. Patnaik (Andamaina Manasulo); Best dialogue writer – Puri Jagannadh (Neninthe); Best cinematographer – Chotak K. Naidu and Best Music Director - Mickey J. Mayer (Kotha Bangaru Lokam); Best male playback singer – Shankar Mahadevan; Best female playback singer - Geetha Madhuri.

Recommended for you